Learning Japanese: ~ と 思います

Note:

~ と 思います。Means “I think…”

There is a rule applied to the word before と:

  • If it is a VERB, it has to be in the 普通形 (Informal form)
  • If it is a I-ADJECTIVE, it remains the same form.
  • If it is a NA-ADJECTIVE, add だ after the adjective.

Example:

  1. 明日、雨 が ふる と 思います。[Ashita, ame ga furu to omoimasu] (I think tomorrow will be raining)
  2. 田中さん は 会議室 に いる と 思います。[Tanakasan wa kaigishitsu ni iru to omoimasu] (I think Mr. Tanaka is in the meeting room)
  3. 日本 に 物価 が 高い と 思います。[Nihon ni, bukka ga takai to omoimasu] (In Japan, the price is expensive I think)
  4. 相撲 は おもしろい と 思います。[Sumo wa omoshiroi to omoimasu] (I think Sumo is interesting)
  5. 日本 は 交通 が 便利だ と 思います。[Nihon wa koutsuo ga benrida to omoimasu] (I think the transport system in Japan is convenient)

More notes here and here.

Leave a Reply

